I would replace my Kindle Voyage with a Kindle Voyage

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/02/16/if-lost-i-would-replace-my-kin.html

2 Likes

You missed a closing paragraph tag.

2 Likes

I read between two and four ebooks every week just on my phone and have never felt the need for a dedicated ebook reader. Most of them are too big to carry around as easily as a phone. (The battery life is nice, though, but I already charge my phone every day, so it’d just be adding another thing to charge once or twice a week.)

3 Likes

“Paper books kill trees”: if meant seriously, this is an old, hard-to-die misconception. If correctly managed, forests yield wood and are replanted. Saying that paper kills trees is like saying that bread kills wheat. (If incorrectly managed, even a wheat field can damage the environment.)

26 Likes

I used to work in the industry, and am not at all surprised you got your Kindle back. Hotel cleaning staff tend to be honest, hardworking people. There is always a danger of small electronics being thrown away, but something the size of a Kindle will usually be sitting somewhere waiting to be reclaimed.

13 Likes

*“paper book.”

2 Likes

Ty. Ty @orenwolf for the fix.

2 Likes

Thanks for the confirmation on the Voyage.

1 Like

Ironic, amirite?

20 Likes

I like ebooks, but have always used my laptop to view them. Does anyone know offhand if there is a good reader that lets you load and view documents from lots of different formats, including PDFs? I am personally pretty unlikely to ever buy a DRM’d document, but it would be nice to have a dedicated reader that is more portable and has hugely better battery life than my laptop.
Just curious.

1 Like

I read ebooks, sure, but they’re not satisfying. Like efood.

8 Likes

Totally different. If your paper book is lost or destroyed, you’ve lost that book. If your e-reader is lost or destroyed, you’ve lost all your books. Much better!

11 Likes