In praise of older browsers

Today, I tried opening LinkedIn with Safari, as I always do and…

…it wouldn’t let me in. Complained that my browser was too old. All because my iMac is 12 years old, still works fine, but it’s stuck on Safari 13.

Now, I am a web developer myself, and I can understand why they might not want to support older versions of JavaScript, or Browsers that don’t use WebP, but I will stick to Safari for my main browser. Chrome is a CPU hog, and I already use Firefox for work.

The real reason I still use Safari for the BBS, though, is that it doesn’t render a lot of the reaction GIFs here. Which means I can concentrate on actual comments, and zip past the oh so clever images.

3 Likes

5 Likes

You see, I saw that one. It’s so many of the others, which I didn’t see, then opened in Chrome to see them, I thought “well, that was a waste of time.”

I think it’s the GIFs that aren’t really GIFs, but WebP. Since it’s mostly Imgur embeds.

But really, the nice thing about using older tech even if you are a front end dev is that I can see the pain points other, less wealthy clients see. We programmers hate to optimise for less powerful equipment, which is why so many games run so slow on non-gamer equipment.

2 Likes

People communicate in many different forms. Reaction gifs can tell as much of a story as someone typing out their thoughts, and perhaps more importantly, they provided needed emotional context that is often omitted from text-based discussions.