Is this Leonardo's painting of a younger Mona Lisa?

Originally published at: Controversial painting of a younger Mona Lisa purportedly by Leonardo

3 Likes

blablablah. I really cant stand jones. to full of himself. wrote a piece few weeks back, where he made fun of david hockneys and charles falco findings about artists use of opticals instruments in the renaissance. jones didnt seem to had any real knowledge of the subject, just opinions. same here.

could just be a “fast” and early oil-draft, misterrr jones. artists did and do them all the time! yes, I am a fucking painter myself!

16 Likes

Is this the same Jonathan Jones who decided the best way to commemorate Terry Pratchett’s death was to shit all over a lifetime of widely beloved literary work?

Yeah, fuck that guy.

8 Likes

All good points. I have an above average art education, and while I can recognize the real one is better, I wouldn’t use the adjectives to say the other one is bad.

No idea on if Leonardo did it or not, there were a ton of lesser known artists and people making copies of various works, who were still quite competent in their art.

Also, if you’re ever feeling lazy, remember the Leonardo often had to be sued to finish commissions.

7 Likes

Oh right. A fucking idiot then. It’s not actually like artists were hiding this.

The book is great but the old website (think its offline a long time now) was even better.

3 Likes