ITT Technical Institute to close

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/09/06/itt-technical-institute-to-clo.html

3 Likes

I have an ITT degree. At the time I was such a bad student I thought wasting my tuition at an unaccredited technical school was worth it for one last shot at an AAS degree. Well, those credits are meaningless and don’t transfer. So I spent two years getting a degree that counts for nothing if I wanted to get a BS somewhere else.

20 Likes

It didn’t help you get a job? I know a few people who got degrees from DeVry, which is a similar institution, but maybe better?

3 Likes

Not for another two years after graduation.

The week I turned 24 I suddenly started getting callbacks. Up until then I was considered too young to hire on the actuarial tables during the great recession.

I’m lucky I could go without a job for those two years. If I didn’t have it so unreasonably good I’d probably be homeless or dead and without a job.

25 Likes

Here’s hoping that the Art Institutes, all those schools run by the Career Education Corporation, and other similarly scammy organizations follow suit soon.

12 Likes

I went to Art Institute, which is ok i suppose but they definitely gouge students and get them to take out more financial aid than necessary and they have some fairly predatory practices. Their credits don’t really transfer to other schools, some classes might but for the most part it can be a loss… even between Art Institutes, but i’ve heard that they’ve since run into a fair amount of trouble like ITT has. If it were up to me i’d love to see them go under, having been taken advantage of financially by them and having seen other friends experience the same i have little sympathy for these for-profit colleges.

6 Likes

But I’m only halfway through my course in Refrigeration Repair Management!

8 Likes