Jack Kirby's nightmarish double page spreads from The Demon (1972-73)

[Read the post]

4 Likes

Kirby couldn’t draw faces to save his life. . . but fevered-dreamlike-alien-hellscapes? Nobody did it better!

4 Likes

In high school one weekend while tripping on acid with friends. We walked by a comic shop. I couple of us stopped to look at a poster that was a group shot of all the hero’s and villain’s in that particular comic universe. I don’t recall which it was. Easily 100+ supers. The rest of the group continue on to the store we were headed to. My focus zoomed in as I looked at each face. I studied their poses and what that conveyed about their character. I looked at how some were posed to signify a relationship between characters (good or bad). I zoomed in even more to study their accessories: Weapons, utility belts, gadgets… Certain characters caught my eye and I spent more time wondering what powers they had and what their backstory was… Suddenly I heard laughter. There were my friends walking up the sidewalk with bags of food. They were laughing because apparently they had been gone for about an hour and I was in the same position (with the same smile) as when they had left. I wish these two page spreads would have been in the window. I might never of come back out.

11 Likes

I’ve still got the TMNT special issue with…Donatello (IIRC) that Kirby did with Eastman. Might have to dig out that issue.

3 Likes

OR - are they the same thing?

7 Likes

That’s not LSD, that’s just an ordinary teenage fan.

5 Likes

Which one is that? I have several of the older, original series, which were great comics.

I first read this as “Jack Chick” and man was I confused.

1 Like

I believe it’s the Donatello series #1, with, IIRC, a mostly white cover, Don…

…dat right dere:

Back in the day, I had maybe #1–#10 of the original TMNT comics, but this Donatello and maybe a few others are all that’s left now.

Nobody could do visual overload/clutter like Jack Kirby.