Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccine trial halted for 'unexplained illness'

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/10/12/johnson-johnson-covid-19-vaccine-trial-halted-for-unexplained-illness.html

6 Likes

Whether or not this is a causation, this is precisely why we have clinical trials rather than just YOLOing vaccines out into the world like Trump would prefer.

35 Likes

This has already happened, I think a different study.

Apparently routine, they have to determine if it’s the drug, or something else

It doesn’t automatically mean the drug is out of the running.

Even if there are wide effects, it may just mean it’s not for some people.

12 Likes

This is now the second phase 3 trial halted for adverse events. Maybe we should not rush this thing so much?

23 Likes

The patient was interviewed by CNN:

16 Likes

I work in the pharma industry - this is totally common. This is why we have trials. It’s not worth worrying about. if you had any idea how many drugs fail at stage 3…you’d be amazed.

In any case, anyone thinking they were getting a vaccine before mid-2021 has deluded themselves. Even the most ambitious scientists were saying early 2021. The leading vaccine right now has to be transported and maintained at -40 degrees or something like that, which means most places can’t even keep it, even if it could be transported there (not a lot of trucks get that cold…but they do exist).

If we could have isolated and starved it ala NZ, life would have been better. But no, we have maskholes who talk about how wearing a mask is a “personal choice” while not caring about other’s choices…

28 Likes

Yes, I think the astrazenica candidate. I believe they have at least partially restarted it already. This is relatively normal for clinical trials, it’s just rare that the daily happenings of phase three drug trials make international news.