LA Fitness assumes black man isn't a member (but he is), bars him from entering and calls police

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/04/18/la-fitness-assumes-black-man-i.html

11 Likes

Just another black person looking for special treatment.

(since it’s apparently necessary: /s)

53 Likes

Sadly, the most unbelievable thing about this situation is finding a gym that’s willing to cancel a membership contract in any circumstances.

102 Likes

It’s so fucked up on so many levels, I’d need a month to get to it all

15 Likes

Bet you $5 they refuse to refund him and charge him an “early termination” fee.

55 Likes

Roger That!

3 Likes

He had a legal and binding contract allowing him entry and to use the facilities. Then, they arbitrarily terminate said contract without a substantive reason. I’d sue their god damned racist asses off. But, I’m not a lawyer, so there’s that.

44 Likes

I guess it may be my own naïveté, but in a era when absolutely everything is videoed and posted, how the hell do people think they can get away with this kind of shit?? How long until the management issues some vague notpology and expects it all to blow over?

15 Likes

O_O

I'm genuinely confused at the apparent lack of the employees' reasoning skills and any sense of self-preservation.

­

As a Black person, I totally get ingrained bigotry; as messed up as it is, it’s still practically spoonfed to many of us from birth.

What I don’t get is the total failure to think ahead and envision the potential negative outcome of one’s actions when dealing with the public, especially in this day and age when there’s a camera everywhere and lawsuits are common.

77 Likes

You have a typo in the title. It should read: LA Fitness implements an anti-black racist policy and bars longstanding paying black member from entering and calls police for being black, because they are anti-black racists.

Just sayin’…

43 Likes