Lest we forget the corrosive strength of sulfuric acid

[Read the post]

2 Likes

Why did spongey have to be smiling? That’s just mean.

8 Likes

Apparently hydrofluoric acid is worse.

As a high school student I assisted my chemistry teacher when he was one of the judges for a science fair in the elementary school next door.

One of the students had an experiment that involved etching some small metal plates. He poured some hydrofluoric acid that his father had provided on them. No gloves, no safety equipment.

I heard a “squeak” from the teacher, and observed him turning white, then red.

If the kid had a control, it would have been the best experiment of the fair.

12 Likes

Johnny was a chemist
But Johnny is no more
For what he thought was H20
Was H2SO4

29 Likes

Hydrofluoric is less dramatic in terms of sheer displays of acidic power(except that it will attack glass pretty enthusiastically, which few of its peers can handle); but it has the excitingly ghastly power of ‘soaking into your skin and grabbing all the calcium it can get its hands on’. Since most people are rather attached to their skeletons, and consider the various calcium-channel cellular mechanisms to be life critical; this can go poorly.

Sulfuric is more of a ‘straight, old school, chemical burns’ sort.

30 Likes

Sulfuric acid used to be called “oil of vitriol” because you could get it by heating vitriol, a glassy rock made of a number of different metallic sulfate. Vitriol of argile is an old name for aluminum sulfate, or alum for instance. You heat vitriol, it exudes an oily liquid – sulfuric acid, or at least, something with pretty high concentrations of sulfuric acid.

It was only later that “vitriolic” came to mean bitter, nasty, etc, after the effects of sulfuric acid. Sulfuric acid wasn’t called “vitriol” because it was mean, being mean was called vitriolic to remind one of the effects of H2SO4.

25 Likes