Listen to audio recorded on Mars, where the speed of sound is slower than on Earth

Originally published at: Listen to audio recorded on Mars, where the speed of sound is slower than on Earth | Boing Boing

6 Likes

I find this pretty amazing. Wouldn´t a slower speed of sound give the sound also a lower pitch?

Would be a lot easier to hear without the background muzak.

1 Like

Nope. AFAIK, it would only affect how fast things get where, and how far. For example, the speed of sound in water is about 4.3 times the speed of air, so it travels farther. However, water is denser and behaves differently from air, which our eardrums evolved to hear through. When submerged in water they don’t behave as efficiently, filtering out much of the low-end frequency from the sound.

I’m an audio engineer, not an acoustician, so if anyone better info, please respond,

3 Likes

I’d guess that what we’re actually hearing as the wind is the wind blowing past the opening in which the microphone sits. Did nobody think to include a dead cat?

1 Like

Something to think about for outdoor Martian rock concerts.

on Mars, you can’t hear Elon scream

2 Likes

I believe you are correct: the frequency at which a thing vibrates is considered a constant, e.g. a tuning fork set to “A” will still vibrate at “A” whether on Earth, on Mars, or in a vacuum. The pitch will go unchanged in this case. Given the relationship of velocity, frequency, and wavelength (v = fw, where “v” is velocity, “f” is frequency, and “w” is wavelength), the wavelength would actually shrink if the velocity is reduced.

NASA has an excellent page with audio samples demonstrating both this and the incredibly quick drop-off effect on higher frequencies in low atmo, found here.

3 Likes

wow, sounds surprisingly like low-key Philip Glass

but i’ve only listened to the first 5 seconds, let me sample the rest…

This needs testing, just to be sure. First we get him there then we can work out the rest if we’re still into it.