Massive 2,000-year-old etching of cat found on Peruvian hillside

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/10/21/massive-2000-year-old-etching-of-cat-found-on-peruvian-hillside.html

4 Likes

Also looks like a Red Panda. Maybe it hitchhiked there from Asia.

Red Panda would be a good Marvel superhero. His power would be overwhelming cuteness.

8 Likes

I’m not an expert on Incan or Pre-Incan peoples, but they probably made that by drawing an outline around a sleeping cat. As they clear more, they’ll probably discover a giant keyboard too

:stuck_out_tongue:

19 Likes

Check the surrounding hills for a mouse.

ignatz

21 Likes

Well, “cat” as in feline creature, which there are numerous species in South America, but I’m pretty sure pre-Columbian peoples didn’t have cat cats as in Felis domesticus.

7 Likes

Yep, it’s definitely not a domesticated cat. It may be a mythical cat-like creature and not an attempt to draw a real animal at all. Here’s a recent BoingBoing post on unrealistic animal drawings: https://boingboing.net/2020/10/09/medieval-paintings-of-animals-that-look-nothing-like-real-animals-because-the-artist-had-never-seen-them.html

8 Likes

Thanks to Aggretsuko, I know not to mess with red pandas.

6 Likes

Odd how it was just found but there happens to be a well worn path with stairs up along the side of it…

:smirk:

2 Likes

You’re saying the cat meme has been done already?

exits Paint without saving

5 Likes

I should watch my son’s anime more often. The Japanese are strange.

2 Likes

It’s on Netflix. Third season already. The episodes are only 15 minutes long. You can binge the series in a weekend with plenty of time to spare.

My wife loves the series because it gets many eccentric aspects of Japanese office/social life right. (1st season especially).

6 Likes