"Master bedroom" and "Master bath" won't be used in Houston's real estate listings anymore

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/06/26/master-bedroom-and-maste.html

I have a Master’s degree. What do I do now?

30 Likes

Keep applying for jobs. /s

49 Likes

Thanks guys, you’ve solved racism.

Racism is solved everyone, you can go home now!

18 Likes

While I can, to at least some extent, understand renaming “primary” as opposed to “master” for bedrooms and bath, the removal of “Master” from Master Sommeliers makes no sense as the context is wholly different - mastering a skill has nothing to do with racism?

30 Likes

Yeah, this seems… unthinkingly reactionary. In computing, some instances of master have to go because it’s paired with slave to actually distinguish a controller from a dependent, like with IDE drives. On the other hand, you wouldn’t rename the Master File Table; it’s the master because it’s the primary authority, not because it’s the primary controller.

Also, will no one think of the Jedi Masters of old?

14 Likes

Whither Depche Mode?

7 Likes

“Business bedroom” because that is where “business time” happens.

Almost every Wednesday night.

17 Likes

12 Likes

I guess it shows a very positive willingness to look under every rock to root out racism, but maybe start with a book and learn how institutional racism actually works?

13 Likes

Someone wants to die on this hill…sure. I just, whatever.

@cannibalpeas I just read an article on this topic and it was pushed it needs to change based on the term being misogynistic. I totally get it can be both that and racist. I guess progress?

4 Likes

Yeah, I can see that. And it’s not like it’s a critical term that will be missed. And people can do two things at once. It just seems like the kind of solution the McConnell senate would dream up. But whatever, kick all the doors in! There are enough demons to go around.

7 Likes

what about masterbating?

3 Likes