Millennials are killing McMansions

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/03/28/crown-moldings-of-death.html

9 Likes

Since when was a McMansion considered a starter home anyway? Me thinks there’s something else killing McMansions.

They go for upwards in the $1 -2 million dollar range in my neck of the woods. Add that to the republican tax scam messing with taxes and mortgage interest deductions and they are even more expensive.

Oh, and property taxes keep going up.

31 Likes

As a Gen X’er myself, I say good riddance. Ugly, energy-wasting relics of the previous decades of unbridled real estate excess deserve to be left to rot.

48 Likes

we did it folks

29 Likes

I’m from a family of construction workers, and my dad was a contractor briefly in the 70s. I worked as a real estate photographer in the 80s, and I had to shop for homes a few years ago. I know enough to say, with conviction, that these houses are shoddy. I live in a proto-McMansion built in 1980 (aka suburban split-level). These things are garbage. They’re a collection of drafts held together with wasted space and grade C materials.

Those uggo 60s ranch houses are primo in comparison, with actual copper wiring, good wood, good insulation, and practical designs.

41 Likes

Points of reference:

42 Likes

I’ve made a huge mistake…

13 Likes

These McMansions are built to code which means they are built to the lowest legal standard. Pre-war is where you’ll find real craftsmanship.

16 Likes

Which war?

9 Likes

May I interest you in the former home of a racist icon that “empty nesters” can’t sell?

(The structure itself is beautifully made. But, you know, ghosts.)

13 Likes

I know…that’s a premium up-sell feature right there.

8 Likes

Someone should buy those sprawling things and turn them into low income housing. Even just a bunch of 20-somethings could pool their money and turn one into an artist’s co-op or something.

14 Likes

Somebody summon the “Good” cat immediately.