MMA fighter's quick defeat of traditional martial artist "leaves China reeling"

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/05/11/mma-fighters-quick-defeat-of.html

7 Likes

Well the origin of the martial art that “won” (and is why there is MMA) are really interesting too.

Muay Thai is also has a history of beating traditional martial artists pretty badly too.

6 Likes

It sometimes seems any unromantic grappling art will win an unarmed streetfight where no-one lands a knockout punch in the first few seconds: catch, jiu-jitsu, etc.

7 Likes

I am no expert, but I have heard it was Alexander the Great that first encouraged grappling as a lethal art. Mind you I’m reasonably sure I heard this on Ultimate Warrior…

Anyways, my point before distracting myself is that grappling was important until guns basically. Even platemail clad knights would knock the other off a horse so the unarmored ranks would leap on top of them an slide a knife into their joints or helmets (frequently asking for surrender to ransom their safe return home).

2 Likes

This is probably especially true when there are no bars against eye-gouging and other orifice attacks.

2 Likes

My God that video:

A room full of black belts – a very high chance of someone getting seriously hurt. …maybe a heart attack, or a torn hamstring, or a stubbed toe from those awful movements. Or gout, that’s a killer right there.

If any of these “black belts” have been training for more than a year, they should get their money back.

8 Likes

Wasn’t this a large part of Bruce Lee’s philosophy towards traditional martial arts?

4 Likes

BJJ is a part of modern MMA, but definitely not the whole, or even dominant.

1 Like

Video of the beatdown in question:

1 Like

I was going to say, don’t ever let the MMA guys get hold of you. That’s their schtick.