Molly Crabapple's rules for creative success in the Internet age

[Permalink]

2 Likes

Great article!

That said, Iā€™m curious as to why I canā€™t find a kindle edition listing for the new book.

#7 is perfect.

1. Remember that most people who try to be artists are kind of lazy. Just by busting your ass, youā€™re probably good enough to put yourself forward, so why not try?

When I was a musician, I sucked. However, I had a work ethic. And Iā€™ve come to the conclusion that there are two types of successful musicians. Those with talent and those with a work ethic. If you arenā€™t succeeding, you have neither. Its time to leave and stop pretending that you are a creative type.

1 Like

Hats off to you, Molly. I am still an admirer of yours over the Donald Trump incident in U.A.E. You exposed a lot of ā€˜journalistsā€™ for what they have truly become that day. Your art, integrity, curiosity, and intelligence are an inspiration.

I think the following has a much broader audience in America than just the creative class.

6 Likes

What if youā€™re making a platform, but youā€™re not from Silicon Valley, flush with investor money, or a douchebag?

āˆ…

awesome article!
time to jumpstart my portfolio
and maybe some of my concepts
thatā€™ve never fully materialized.

Well, she found one new fan today. Me likey.

1 Like

Be a mercenary towards people with money. Be generous and giving to good people without it.

This should be the new Golden Rule.

6 Likes

Iā€™m a musician, songwriter and recently (couple years) an indie author of paranormal horror and science fiction. So many of these ā€œrulesā€ hit the mark with me, but especially rules #7, 12 and 15. Thanks for the reminders. Iā€™ve copied and hung them on my white board. Iā€™ll not forget them again! ;o)

1 Like