New DEA head: Marijuana "probably not" as dangerous as heroin

[Read the post]

1 Like

“I’m not an expert…” You’re also not a tool. Well, not much.

2 Likes

I’m not an expert.

Well… how… but… what… why…

14 Likes

Shouldn’t the head of the DEA be an expert on drugs?

25 Likes

Rosie, yer doin’ a heck of a job!

2 Likes

You’d have hoped so. Fucking hell.

3 Likes

“I’m not an expert”

“hmm, what’s that? ooohhh that’s what it stands for!!”

4 Likes

Or, at the very least, to have people on his staff who are experts, and to maybe, just maybe have conferred with them on a question so fundamental to his mission and so predictably to be asked of him.

12 Likes

Sort of. It’s a legal, administrative position and doesn’t necessarily mean you need a PhD in the field or anything along those lines. That said, you should definitely be familiar and well versed and listen to what the actual experts say.

Either way this is political hedging until he has more time to be confident of the direction the wind is blowing.

3 Likes

Oh, he knows damn well it’s not even remotely as dangerous, but that would undermine the narrative.

8 Likes

Anyone heading up a massive police force with the explicit mandate to enforce drug laws and who doesn’t know the truth or is willing to lie to the public should be immediately removed.

6 Likes

Time for some Upton Sinclair: “It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends upon his not understanding it!”

19 Likes

Um, then can you be fired? Please?

4 Likes

He’s the head of a police force.

Police enforce laws.

The ones who make laws should have some expertise in the subject though, or at least have access to expertise, which they probably do.

3 Likes

Yup. This law was made back in the days of Nixon. It was done entirely against the advice of the experts at the time. Look up the Schedule 1 drug thing. It was supposed to be temporary, pending the outcome of a study, but ignored said study results.

3 Likes