New Roku Premier is more of the same awesome

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/11/02/new-roku-premier-is-more-of-th.html

1 Like

After a year or so fighting the terrible built-in streaming players of various “smart” TVs and DVD players, the Roku has been a joy to use. I have no experience with other dedicated streaming appliances but I can’t find anything to complain about with the Roku.

2 Likes

Roku is one of those products that really just does what it says and without the baggage of the large brand affiliations and preferences. It may take a bit for a new app to make it to Roku, but everything does get there and work as well if not better than the big branded hardware streamers.

Plex really needs to get better on XB One.

2 Likes

Jason, have you ever posted specifically about Plex?

I see you mentioned it several times, but I’m not familiar with it.

We’ve got a Roku 2 and 3 and looking to cut some cords…

2 Likes

I use plex. It’s a pretty comprehensive media server, and for a monthly subscription you can stream to official apps, but by default you can stream via http to browsers both on your lan or optionally out to the internet.

4 Likes

Pretty sure I’ve linked it in a few of those posts – likely on a Drobo one. I’ll do a “How I use Plex, from Drobo to Roku” post.

It a video file server and streamer.

3 Likes

We really love the Roku IIs we have. Trouble is, they’re so functional and trouble-free, I don’t really have a reason to upgrade if the only improvement is speed and resolution (no 4K sets in the house).

Now, if they’d finally get around to adding a Caller ID feature, they’d have me…

4 Likes

Upgrading from R2 to R3 gets you the Netflix Profiles - that keeps my wife’s reccomendations from being spammed with kids shows.

My profile, of course, thinks I would prefer to watch Bo on the Go or Ninjago.

5 Likes