Perfectly preserved cave lion may be coming back after 50,000-year extinction nap

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/11/13/perfectly-preserved-cave-lion.html

2 Likes

“It’s still hungry. Hurry up with that baby mammoth clone already!”

13 Likes

I’m a fan of Scott Sigler, love Ancestor… so this leaves me feeling uneasy :flushed:

5 Likes

Weren’t cave lions … really huge? It seems like a bad idea to re-introduce an extra big predator when we’re already destroying species left and right.

8 Likes

Russian scientists + Siberian Times = Bat Boy.

13 Likes

OK, I’m no expert but this kind of raises my suspicions a bit. What does the superficial external structure of the specimen have to do with its suitability for cloning? Shouldn’t the real question be whether any DNA fragments survived relatively intact?

14 Likes

Who knows what these guys are supposedly talking about: probably a prop from 30,000 B.C., but what we now know is that a lion is a lion is a lion, including what was once called the Giant Jaguar. Lion subspecies do seem to respond to colder climates by becoming bigger. The largest extant, I believe, is the Ethiopian lion, while the largest ever was actually the European lion.

Pass the ketchup!

1 Like

Someone get Jeff Goldblum on the phone to give these guys a talking to.

11 Likes

Fifi, where have you been hiding?

1 Like

If it’s frozen like that, you have billions of perfectly intact cells to harvest DNA from. They’ve gotten DNA from fossils.

3 Likes

From what I understand they’re still a long way from getting anything close to an intact DNA strand from long extinct mammals. The problem has been described as trying to reconstruct a novel that’s been broken down into a random mix of individual words.

4 Likes

To be fair, although the first news broke well over a decade ago, there has been recent statements with cloning Woolly Mammoths:

6 Likes
7 Likes

OK just one thing. Don’t patch it up with frog DNA. promise me, ok?

17 Likes