Portland protesters released from jail on condition they no longer attend protests

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/07/28/protesters-released-from-jail.html

13 Likes

Cue ACLU winnable lawsuits, please; that is unconstitutional as fuck.

What, no flag for this post?

65 Likes

I could win a case against this condition after staying awake for a week straight and arguing it through a pair of tin cans connected by a mile of string. And I’m not a lawyer.

42 Likes

Is it? I mean it is so wrong that you kind of need to use one of those backwards R’s to write about it…but releases from jail while a trial is pending do tend to have limits, and those limits always infringe on one’s normal rights (don’t leave the jurisdiction, don’t talk to this list of people, don’t go near the witnesses, go to AA meetings, and so on).

What limits exist on the stipulations on “well, we could keep you in jail, but if you promise X I guess we can let you out”?

(again, I’m not here to argue that this is even slightly right, I’m just not sure how this is a slam dunk win…and I’ll be happy to be told why the ACLU will have a field day, or better yet see them do so!)

7 Likes

Can these kind of conditions be put on someone who is released from jail pending trial? Everyone is saying “this is unconstitutional” but when Roger Stone was awaiting trial he was told to not use social media, which is technically a violation of his first amendment rights. So it seems that as a condition of release from jail you can be forced to (temporarily) give up your first amendment rights.

On the other hand Michael Cohen had a “no writing” condition on his early release and that was pretty quickly judged unconstitutional.

Any actual lawyers here know the distinction?

5 Likes

The Constitution explicitly gives the right to assemble and peacefully protest. No government agent can take/revoke this right.

23 Likes

Yup.

18 Likes