Prince: death by ignorance and fear

[Read the post]

16 Likes

Thank you, thank you, thank you, Maureen! This is by far the best article on painkiller addiction I have read after Prince’s passing. It should be spread worldwide and be a must-read, especially for the media. I look forward to your book!

18 Likes

I don’t disagree with the thesis of this piece that addition-shaming sucks and fear of it likely contributed to the man’s death, but I also have to wonder to what degree his status as a (reputedly quite devout) Jehovah’s Witness played.

One of the Witnesses’ quirks is that they don’t do blood transfusions.

I’m not a doctor and obviously I know next to nothing about the specifics of Prince’s medical condition, but for people with really serious, chronic hip pain, there are surgeries that can help. Much more than pills. I’ve read that Prince had some sort of hip surgery a number of years ago, but I have to wonder if there might be something more effective. Something that he wasn’t willing to undergo (or that doctors weren’t willing to perform) because of the no-blood-transfusion thing, leaving the chemical painkillers as his only option…

1 Like

Your article was the bomb but you got one small detail wrong… Prince never had the double hip surgery he needed since 2005. In order to have a hip replacement (as with any complex surgery) one must prepare to receive blood transfusions and this is not accepted by the Jehovah’s Witnesses religion, of which Prince was a devout follower. So he must have truly been enduring some intense pain that I cannot even imagine! I had to get a hip resurfaced several years ago and the pain I endured before I succumbed to that surgery was horrible!