Reality TV is the New French Novel

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/01/31/reality-tv-is-the-new-french-n.html

Sorry. Nope.

11 Likes

…so? did the ritalin wear off yet?

1 Like

Hahahaha, no.

What the hell has happened to Boing Boing that it is publishing self-congratulatory puff pieces with delusions of grandeur like this.

16 Likes

Nah brah, I don’t watch reality tv or much tv at all. Congrats on making money, doh.

2 Likes

adderall.:star_struck:

1 Like

I’m a Reality TV producer. I make the stuff. Oh, go ahead, scripted television snob, snark away, I’ve heard it all before.

While they were sweating out their novels, I was writing wrap scripts for Bachelor host Chris Harrison.

The difference between fiction and “reality tv” is that fiction isn’t a lie.

Some of us have Masters degrees from Ivy League schools.

This is a humor piece, right?

12 Likes

No clue what’s up, but it’s probably a buddy of one of the staff trying desperately to pivot out of the shithole they sank into via a desperate attempt to spin their tawdry garbage as some sort of postmodern commentary, or some such bullshit, using dated intellectual slang picked up second-hand and half-remembered from that one college course on media theory they took.

Not buyin’ it, bud.

8 Likes

absorbing hundreds of pages and watching 30 to 60 minutes of tv are not the same thing at all

i won’t snark at you, tv person.

but i won’t take your comparisons seriously, either.

6 Likes

I like Survivor but I’ve always said it’s a game show, not reality TV, and the living with other people just comes down to part of the game.

5 Likes

Not my cuppa but to each their own.
My idea of a good show is Svengoolie.

2 Likes

Reality TV as a genre of media on the television was but a precursor to the era we now all live in, ever-present social media, realtime streaming, selfies, HD and even 4K cameras in everyone’s pockets, the whole shebang.