Relive the joy of Berkeley Systems' famous "Flying Toasters" and other “After Dark” screensavers

Originally published at: Relive the joy of Berkeley Systems' famous "Flying Toasters" and other "After Dark" screensavers | Boing Boing

3 Likes

Screens not burning in any more may contribute :slight_smile:

19 Likes

But can you play Lunatic Fringe is my question.

11 Likes

And sleep mode.

6 Likes

Yes.

6 Likes

Laptops also contribute. Back in the 90’s you didn’t close your computer when you were done with it.

7 Likes

I’ve been using the same Sheep vs Gravity screensaver for 20 years. These days I have it set to turn on ten minutes before my laptop enters sleep mode, as a visual cue for myself.

5 Likes

Screen saver wars.

15 Likes

I thought most/all still do, it just takes a lot of exposure to get LCDs to burn in (OLEDs I think are not a whole lot better then CRTs in this regards, and plasma is at least as bad as CRTs ever were what with sort of being a whole lot of tiny CRTs…).

I mean you are still right, if it takes an order of magnitude more exposure to the same images to burn in many people won’t experience burn in with normal usage until long after they want to replace the monitor with a newer bigger one anyway.

I think they are still popular, but not so much as a independent category of software. OSes come with bundled screen savers. Largely not as cool as flying toasters, but for sure good enough to get the job done.

So similar to the death of calendar applications, and the in-progress-death of note taking applications: why buy what you already own?

4 Likes

OLED definitely has burn in risk but panel makers have various mitigations in place to try to prevent this. (Shifting the picture a couple of px every so often, adjusting the brightness of areas where there’s static images, automated pixel refreshing when turned off, etc.) In most cases it’s a non issue.

5 Likes