Retractable cable combination lock: visual deterrent to amateur thieves

[Permalink]

looks snippable?

“Visual deterrent” is key, since it doesn’t look like much of a physical deterrent. I could use one of these to protect my stuff at skating rinks or the beach, where a regular combination lock isn’t big enough to loop around other things. I love the Cool Tools columns!

I keep a short, heavy Kryptonite cable lock locked around the seat post of my bike. It’s always there when I need it, and it doesn’t rattle or bother me. And it’s about 100 times stronger than the one in this photo.

http://www.kryptonitelock.com/Pages/ProductInformation.aspx?PNumber=999829

1 Like

I don’t carry a heavy lock. It is fixed to the frame of my bike.

I have a Mini Leatherman in my pocket that is capable of cutting through the lock shown in the article in a couple snips. But I’m a professional non-thief.

I use one of these on ski trips. Yes, it’s easily snippable but I think it provides just enough deterrent to cause the thief to skip my snowboard and grab an adjacent unlocked one instead.

Hardened Steel cable is surprisingly difficult to snip, but the plastic housing on the combo lock itself looks pretty darn flimsy. Those spinning combo locks are typically trivial to pick as well.

I guess it’s better than no lock at all.

Hmm, according to the Amazon reviews, the latch mechanism is so terrible on these locks that all it takes is a good tug to pull it out. Maybe it’s worth spending a bit more on a lock that’s not so crap?

Why are we encouraging the use of this kind of pointless crap while simultaneously lamenting how ultimately ineffective the TSA is?

Either there’s a value to security theater, or there isn’t.

2 Likes

Or buy a cheap uLock for a comparable price, and get actual (though minimal) theft deterrence? You could cut this with scissors.

1 Like

I agree with Mark on this one.