San Francisco Symphony to perform "Ghostbusters" score live alongside the film

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/11/20/san-francisco-symphony-to-perf.html

1 Like

Not that I don’t like Ghostbusters, or live scoring (seen lots), or the San Francisco Symphony, or the San Francisco Symphony doing live scores (been to at least two). But I’m not sure I consider that a good use of their talents. Or $65.

I wonder if Salonen had to sign off on this…

1 Like

I’ve been to a couple of these sorts of things here in Minneapolis. There is always some audio content that’s played back via the PA. The spatial separation between the orchestra on the platform and the pa usually fairly high above results in an experience of two distinct audio sources. It doesn’t work that well.

Of course I’m an audio engineer so my brain is trained to pay attention to these sort of things. Maybe Joe general public doesn’t notice?

5 Likes

I went to a Ghostbusters live show with the Chicago Symphony last summer at Ravinia Festival. That’s an outdoor venue north of the city where, for very little cost for lawn seating, one can pack a picnic dinner and libations and listen to great music. It’s very family friendly. In fact, that night we went with my son’s family including his 4 and 5 year olds. Besides the main event, they also had a 25 foot tall Sta Puft marshmallow man and two replica Ecto One cars. My grandson loved it.

2 Likes

The San Antonio Symphony also does this each season.

https://sasymphony.org/sas-movies/

1 Like

Good point: everything I’ve ever seen had been a silent movie or a movie where all the audio was score (i.e. the Qaatsi trilogy).

1 Like