Scotty of strange parts adds wireless charging to an old iPhone

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/08/22/scotty-of-strange-parts-adds-w.html

2 Likes

My iPhone 5s is acting wonky, may just be time for me to break down and get that new iPhoney…

BTW: this has obsoletely nothing to do with the subject matter…

1 Like

Seeing this fills me with jealous and sadness. This is my first time watching video of the markets of Shenzhen, and all I can think is how this feels like Silicon Valley in the 1980s. The SV hacker spirit has withered from 74xx, jumper wires, and socketed 8-bit CPUs to an empty husk of itself in the paltry “maker” community that seems to be (mostly) content to cobble together some mildly entertaining robot-thing using store-bought parts, hot glue, and some ITTT “logic”.

Yeah, I know that’s an unfair knock on much of the maker community, and I don’t mean to demean them. But like the mythical frog in boiling water, much time passed and I did not come to realize just how much we had lost until seeing this. It truly floored me. The mantle has been unmistakably passed to these brilliant folks. Meanwhile, all we’ve done lately in SV is figure out how to monetize people’s attention spans.

3 Likes

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/08/22/adding-wireless-charging-to-an.html

2 Likes

I was excited to get wireless charging until I got a phone that supported wireless charging and realized I had to leave it laying on a charging pad (i’d never really thought about it in detail). If there is one rule my phone follows is that the battery will run out when I need to use my phone. If I need to use my phone while it is charging then a cable seems more convenient than a pad. I could use it only at a night but then my night stand gets filled up with this pad all the time versus just plugging in the cable at night.