Share whatcha know about electric generators (for home use)

Do you have an electric generator you are happy with?

Do you have some hot tips to shorten the learning curve on picking a good one, running one, maintaining one?

Is there a forum you know of that stands out for its solid advice on electrical generators?

It’s hot as fuck in here in Texas, and we have very little confidence in the current condition of our electrical grid. We’d like to go solar, but we need a fix ASAP to bridge our gap between right now and when we get our system installed.

Thanking in you in advance, wherever you are on the planet,
A Uri survivor

6 Likes

I’m afraid that I have little useful knowledge related to your exact question; but there is one tidbit that might be useful if AC is, in fact, the essential use case for the generator.

You can get AC units fueled by propane(either piped to a natural gas grid or from canisters), I believe they are popular in RVs and some other tenuously grid-linked situations; and both the acquisition cost and the efficiency of one such unit might compare favorably to the alternative of a relatively small(and thus inefficient) heat engine producing electricity in order to drive a motor to shove the Carnot cycle of your AC unit in the desired direction.

I’m afraid I don’t have any useful specific advice; but I would recommend giving that avenue a look unless you must also have support for other electrical loads.

5 Likes

You might enjoy these…

3 Likes

I have a friend up the hill from me who will just give me a $2000+ electric genny (gas fuel) that was not winterized properly and needs a teardown and clean up. That’s too OGNAP (O God Not Another Project) for us right now.

Mr. Carlson’s lab is a treat. We were using a few of his videos when we still had our Tektronix 565 oscilloscope (tubes! silver solder! one channel working). He is truly a happy mutant. And competent.

7 Likes