Should I "Upgrade" To Windows 10's Sweeping New Intrusiveness?

Perhaps a not so simple question. I understand the ins and outs. My job involves the retail sale of computers and I’m no novice, even though I wouldn’t call myself an expert on all things computer-related. I like the new features, but there is one things that concerns me:

The Privacy Policy, especially the part where it says Microsoft can access and disclose whatever it wants to whomever it wants in the name of “protecting their customers.”

That is not something that can be deactivated in the settings.

Does anyone know how unique this kind of thing is to Microsoft? It defeats the point of being able to encrypt a drive, doesn’t it? This shit has me seriously considering a Mac, and while I’m very OS agnostic, I can be swayed with vague and sweeping TOS. Still, if this is a fairly common practice and shows up everywhere… perhaps I shouldn’t be so hesitant?

2 Likes

People will offer various sorts of advice. But really, I think we’ve long since passed the point at which you have to assume that every major software vendor and Internet service provider, including most of the free ones, is involved in marketing personal data or has strong ties to the government, usually both.

As in most parts of life, all the frequent, detailed advice you’ll get is really about making you feel better about a problem that you, as an individual, cannot solve. Don’t exhaust yourself with useless gestures.

(NB: I’m badly sleep-deprived, stressed out, and more angry than usual, so this likely colors my responses to, well, everything.)

5 Likes

Nah, bullshit - you should totally be hesitant. Particularly given your OS-agnosticism, you should be thinking long and hard about blowing off Windows.