Study finds that sleeping in on the weekends is good for you

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/05/25/study-finds-that-sleeping-in-o.html

7 Likes

Pretty sure my risk of mortality is going to hold steady at 100% no matter what I do.

28 Likes

6 Likes

Here’s a radical idea: sleep enough every day. Taking 2 hours off your precious TV time won’t kill you.

7 Likes

I think these results need independent verification. And look – tomorrow’s Saturday! #CitizenScience

13 Likes

I wish I was still able to execute the extended snooze. I may have used up my lifetime allotment of sleeping in during my teen years. I went from semi-pro to non-practicing as I grew older. From my 30’s onward, I averaged about 5 1/2 to 6 hours a night. Now that I’m in my 60’s (please forgive me for a brief emotional moment, I’ve never written that phrase before) . . . as I was saying, now that I’m in my 60’s, I seem to need more like 6 1/2 a night. Try as I might, I just can’t seem to wake up, roll over and give sleep a go again. Parenting, pets and work pressure ruined me.

8 Likes

Might help some, but I tend to have pretty bad insomnia. I’ve tried the general recommendations like staying away from screens, caffeine, going to bed and waking up at the same time consistently, etc, etc. But I usually wind up anxious and not sleeping anyway (I’ve been told that it might help my sleep if I reduced my anxiety level. This is true, but if I were capable of pulling that trick off, I’d probably solve most of my life problems simultaneously). I even tried a routine for a few weeks where I’d go to bed at the same time, and the hour directly before bed would be spent with all the lights off, save one desk light so I could read physical, paper books with the intent of unwinding and convincing my brain it was nighttime without any screen interaction whatsoever. Fuckin’ nothing. But I still have to get up for work in the morning.