The Computer History Museum just published the sourcecode for Eudora

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/05/23/it-belongs-in-a-museum.html

6 Likes

Wait–was the last version published in 2016 or 2006? Which version did they release?

3 Likes

I loved Eudora and vividly remember my disappointment at having to ditch it for outlook upon moving from university life to corporate life

5 Likes

I still use Eudora. I use the version shown in the article image. It works. I’m happy with it.

2 Likes

I’ll be more impressed when it’s the source code for Windows 10. Only then will the nightmare begin to end.

1 Like

The last version is from 2006. Cory’s fingers have been out drinking all night.

The published source code is from 2006.

I have been using Eudora since 1997. I have tried using other email programs from time to time and those that don’t suck just plain lack the beauty of Eudora.

2 Likes

I love Eudora, and still have an old laptop with it installed because I still go back and reference some saved emails. But having moved forward in terms of Mac OS, I was reduced to using Mail for my desktop email client because I hate using web-based clients. I wish Qualcomm had kept updating - it was such an elegant program.

1 Like

Eudora works–it’s adequate and stable, which is all I need in an e-mail client. Every time I have to interact with my wife’s university Onlook system I appreciate Eudora more.

I’ve been thinking it might be time for a new E-mail client. Or is Thunderbird still a good idea these days, despite that it may not be supported in the future? (It sure didn’t behave very well on the ancient machine that, until recently, I was using.)

1 Like

Works for me.
Mobile version on USB stick, XP, Win 7, Win 8.1, depending where I am.

Before Thunderbird I used The Bat for a while, and before that, Eudora.

1 Like