Thunderbird team vows faster, easier-to-use, more stable versions in the year to come

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/01/03/standalone-email-ftw.html

1 Like

There are also two small projects to resurrect Eudora for both Mac and Windows. The Mac kickstarter is still underway:

The windows kickstarter is over:

And the project is in alpha:

3 Likes

Claws Mail ships with Raspbian. I haven’t given it a good workout yet. (Google certainly has a lot of hoops to jump through to do an old fashioned POP3 connection.)

https://www.claws-mail.org/features.php?section=general

2 Likes

“easier-to-use”? oh gawd, they’re going to screw it up :frowning:

old.thunderbird.com

1 Like

I’ve been using Thunderbird for about 15 years, ever since Outlook Express (ugh) went wacky on my PC. The latest changes have been unexpected but welcome; it’s almost like having an Exchange server with my ISP.
There are still a few odd function issues but I’m going to stick with it.

2 Likes

Arrrgh…guess I’ll hafta send more money too.

Hope they don’t bugger it up with features. Just want them to make it even more stable than it already is. Can’t imagine why people prefer webmail.

3 Likes

Is there a fork of Thunderbird yet with support for XP? Or is it still possible to persuade the latest version to run under XP with a minimum of fuss?

7 Likes

Wh-… XP? Really?

8 Likes

What’s the word?

2 Likes

According to the release notes:

Note that as of Thunderbird 53, Thunderbird only supports Windows 7, 8, 10, and Windows Server 2008 R2.

So get version 52.

But seriously, upgrade. Even Microsoft won’t support XP anymore.

4 Likes

Microsoft hasn’t supported XP since… 2014 I think?

3 Likes

So what they are say is, Thunderbird is go?

3 Likes

Does the app actually check and refuse to run, or is it “proceed at own risk” because they didn’t invest any QA cycles testing it with XP?

1 Like

So all these years I’ve been using Eudora have been a dream?

1 Like

ftfy­

2 Likes