The geo-chemistry behind Rookwood pottery

[Read the post]

1 Like

The worst thing is that these days, the subtleties of a lot of art pottery are being counterfeited overseas and sold as the real thing. They’re usually close, but no cigar, and unless the buyer has educated themselves thoroughly, they are sold a sophisticated fake.

I did my undergrad degree in ceramics. Those original glazes…yum!!

3 Likes

Isn’t geochemistry (and chemistry of glasses and ceramics) fun? :smiley:

2 Likes

“One mineral Robinson knows well is feldspar, two of whose alkalis, potash and soda, are common ingredients in clay.”

This is a confusing way of describing something very real and important. The alkali metals that form the basis of potash and soda ash, K and Na, are important constituents of many clay minerals. These 2 common elements are therefore important & common parts of most clay deposits.

Potash and soda ash are mined in locales that aren’t usually ‘clay deposits’ per se, but they are critical components of the glazes used to produce Arts & Crafts pottery.

I’m probably doing a poor job of explaining this myself; it’s well outside my area of expertise. There is a big difference between the provenance of clays used to make fine art pottery, and the glazes that (also) make them distinctive.

Could someone knowledgeable take it from here?

4 Likes

It helps to realize that a glaze is more similar to glass than to ceramics.

Lead is pretty often used in the glazes, too. The ratio of its stable isotopes could be used for geographically locating its source.

Still one of the best classes I ever took. Raw materials in the hands, going all the way from earth to utensil, and the glazes doing crazy chemistry stuff in the glowing heat of the furnace, absolutely loved it. I’ve gone so far as to consider building a wheel and mini-furnace in my backyard to fire clay.

“Oh, I’m absolutely crackers for geology,” Robinson confirms...