The new head of Harvard's Divinity School is an atheist

Originally published at: The new head of Harvard's Divinity School is an atheist | Boing Boing

7 Likes

So, the headline is somewhat misleading.

HDS is an academic institution. (I’m a graduate student at another institution very much like it). You can study for a Masters of Divinity, a Masters of Theological Studies, or a PhD.

Greg Epstein is essentially the administrative head of Harvard’s 40+ chaplains – people who provide religious (or, in his case, humanist) counseling services to students and faculty.

These are obviously similar fields, but analogy Harvard’s Chief Physician ≠ Head of Harvard Medical School

39 Likes

Unless I’m missing or misreading something, he is now the head chaplain at Harvard. Which would seem to be a totally different thing from the head of Harvard Divinity School.

18 Likes

It makes a lot of sense to have a neutral arbiter between the different faiths.

20 Likes

The headline isn’t misleading. It’s just plain wrong.

10 Likes

I may be mistaken, but I believe the terminal degree at HDS is Th.D. “Theologicae Doctor”

3 Likes

Yup, because if history teaches us anything, it’s certainly that religious groups do not play very well with each other if left to their own devices.

6 Likes

“In 2014 Harvard Divinity School changed its doctoral designation from ThD to PhD. All future doctoral students in religion at Harvard, beginning with those entering in fall 2015, will enter as PhD students. Those currently in the ThD program in the Study of Religion will continue to be candidates for the ThD.”

(p82, course catalog)

Some religions treat HDS as a seminary. Others demand extra coursework.

Under Judaism.