Trump's campaign is suing the NY Times for libel over Russian collusion op-ed

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/02/26/trumps-campaign-is-suing-the.html

7 Likes

So much for the first amendment.

23 Likes

I’m not a lawyer but doesn’t this open up Trump & Co. to some potentially damaging investigations upon discovery?

51 Likes

Streisand, we summon thee!

24 Likes

Waiting for Barr to weigh in on how this is an “assault on the honor and majesty of the President! It must be prosecuted to the fullest extent!”

25 Likes

Maybe that’s why he’s having his “campaign” file the suit instead of himself.

18 Likes

“Fortunately, the law protects the right of Americans to express their judgments and conclusions, especially about events of public importance."

So far…

13 Likes

Well, after tracking down the actual complaint (I’m always baffled why most outlets run stories describing complaints without actually LINKING to said complaint, but oh well), it’s exactly as stupid as you imagine it to be.

They base the complaint on what the NYT should have known was going to be contained in the Mueller report, and got a lawyer to sign a pleading that represents to the court that a “systematic pattern of bias against the Campaign, designed to maliciously interfere with and damage its reputation and seek to cause the organization to fail.” somehow creates a cause of action for a politician. It’s a hell of and 8(!) page pleading.

21 Likes

After AG Barr files the response and the case jumps directly to the Supreme Court, the Times may be in deep, deep trouble. I can see the 5-4 decision for the United States in Failing New York Times v The American People now.

14 Likes

Reality has no bias, good luck with that.