Truths about food expiration dates

Originally published at: Truths about food expiration dates | Boing Boing

6 Likes

I agree. The deli meats that I buy will be eaten right up until I don’t like the amount of slime on them.

That said, Mrs. Bashful will not even sniff the milk as little as one day after the date printed on the bottle. Sometimes compromises must be made to keep the peace.

5 Likes
  • True
  • White flower get’s chalky and gross if it’s too old (I’m a baker)
  • Add baking soda to the cook water of old beans/lentils and they will soften right up and cook quickly. Will hasten cooking for new pulses as well. The opposite, vinegar, will allow lentils to keep their form and not turn to mush.
  • Salad dressing is preserved in vinegar and probably won’t grow microorganisms maybe forever if left in the fridge. The oil (particularly olive oil) will go rancid though.
  • True
  • UHT milk alters the structure of the milk in bad ways. Worse than homogenization. Not recommended for human consumption.
14 Likes

Very useful, esp the part about beans and lentils. Thanks

Yep. I can smell when milk has gone even a tiny bit off and it makes me feel sick. Day after expiration? Partner may drink as much as he pleases but I’m using the newer one or going without. He is a good man and knows not to give me the expired stuff in my coffee

8 Likes

Just zap it with gamma rays. (Keep a pair of purple shorts, just in case.)

images

12 Likes

5 Likes

What the hell bullshit is this? If this were true cooked milk would be toxic. It kills bacteria which may alter the taste of fermented things like cheese, but it does not do anything more “bad” than cooking milk does! And in some EU countries (like say, France of all places) milk for drinking is nearly 100% UHT treated, because they understand bacteria and the effects of it on Dairy for centuries longer than most others.