Ultra-thin USB powered light box

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/11/20/ultra-thin-usb-powered-light-b.html

3 Likes

Just a word of warning: these have either no or poor over-voltage protection. Store them unplugged.

We bought a few to have around lab (I’m a physicist that studies squishy stuff). A student left one plugged in over a 1 week vacation and the battery swelled up and split the case. Luckily we noticed and unplugged the thing before something more exciting happened.

That said, we immediately bought more. They aren’t nearly as bright as more expensive light boxes, but are impressively uniform, and having 3mm-thick, cordless lighting gives us incredible versatility. They’re great!

From what I understand, they were originally marketed towards quilters?

4 Likes

Oh wow, if I still did physical work on a regular basis that would be pretty sweet.

These days I find that my very occasional lightbox needs can be fulfilled by filling my tablet’s screen with white and setting the brightness to maximum. I’ve even used this as a way to enlarge a sketch: photograph it, zoom in, and put paper on top of it.

7 Likes

I wrote to Wacom to suggest that they add something like this to their Bamboo graphics tablets, although it might be nice on other ones too. My “avatar” if it shows up, was made by scanning and tracing a photo of myself and then coloring it… and it would have been easier if I could have done the tracing right on the tablet.

If you want a build-your-own version, pick up the howto here: