US reports 80,000 new Covid cases daily

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/10/29/us-reports-80000-new-covid-cases-daily.html

1 Like

I guess when they told us we were turning the corner, they didn’t specify in which direction.

18 Likes

No surprise that we get news of 33.1% annual growth rate immediately after a 900 point drop due to COVID concerns.

What pandemic?

8 Likes

I’m going to go waayyy out on a limb here and speculate that the last eight months or so have demonstrated that several of the shorthand measurements we use to signify the health of the economy might be fundamentally disconnected from the reality of the economy as experienced by the majority of people.

20 Likes

I’m an expert!

4 Likes

Fox News reports this?? What kind of upside down world are we living in now??

10 Likes

May be a sign that Murdoch has dumped Trump. In which case it’s curtains.

Trump: Is there gas in the car?
Munckins: Yes there’s gas in the car!

Get along Kid Charlemagne

2 Likes

I’ve heard that the real problem is all this testing. If you have less testing, then you have fewer cases so mortality rates go down (well…“Covid” mortality rates). Experts say that with fewer testing, the corresponding increase in non-Covid related deaths is purely consequential as long as the Covid numbers are going down.

2 Likes

I don’t think it’s just a nitpick to point out that the UK did not “report 100,000 new cases in a day”, but a study that did random sampling/testing of 86,000 people estimates that there are 100,000 new cases a day.

Nearly 100,000 people are catching coronavirus every day in England, a major analysis suggests.

That’s bad (really bad), but it’s still a different number than confirmed cases.
Shit, if there were 100,000 confirmed cases per day in the UK, then the real number of would be even higher.

2 Likes

I believe the technical term for the corner we are turning is a “death spiral.”

4 Likes