Veterans remind Pokemon players of memorial park's sanctity by shouting obscenities, punching them

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/07/30/veterans-remind-pokemon-player.html

1 Like

For those who are wondering: Minnesota, according to this Reddit thread:

2 Likes

I’m a rather avid geocacher so it’s been interesting – my son likes the Pokemon Go, and I like going out with him on these – to see the difference between how Niantic and Groundspeak (Geocaching parent co.) handle the placement of things.

I am a lawyer, and this area isn’t my area, but still:

Geocaching is very clear that they are a “listing service” – and while there are basic prohibitions in place (not within .1 mile of another cache, not near a railroad right-of-way, not on a K-12 school property, etc.), the placement of geocaches is done by players and approved by volunteer reviewers. With the exception of a very few caches (1? 2?), Geocaching owns none of its own caches and, again, there’s a review process – both to put caches up and to have them taken down. People are encouraged, through the listings for each cache, to comment about the status of the cache, any problems which may arise, etc., and people are quickly aware of them.

(There were a large number of caches in eastern Colorado where county roads and local driveways are sometimes hard to distinguish (Cf. MY FUCKING DRIVEWAY) and there were some problems – but mostly those were quickly identified and addressed. Geocaching tends, for the good of the activity, to yield in the face of specific opposition, even if it’s not a strictly legal opposition to the placement of cache.)