Video: Fifty years ago today was the first Apollo mission to carry a crew to space

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/10/11/video-fifty-years-ago-today-w.html

Less than a year from first crewed mission to landing on the moon!

2 Likes

Saturn 1b! I’ve got one of those!
Saturn_progress
I took that picture 4 years ago. I have yet to paint on the black trim and apply the decals. But hey, I bought the kit in 1974, and only got around to turning the rubble into a flyable rocket after 29 years or so.

9 Likes

Jeebus, they used pure oxygen in Apollo 1? I’m no rocket scientist, but that seems to me to be an obviously horrible idea.

1 Like

They used pure oxygen on all space capsules until the space shuttle.

No. That’s completely false.

2 Likes

It’s amazing and profoundly sad what this nation had the capability to do when we had the political will. Nowadays we can’t even approve funding to keep rush hour traffic bridges from collapsing. People born in the 80’s and onward will never know the United States I knew when I was growing up. We truly were a shining light on the hill to the rest of the world and I fear the world will never again see a nation that had the ideals this nation had at that time. I’ll be long dead, but at least I have those memories the young folk will never have. That’s depressing to me.

3 Likes

I envy your political will. :yum:

For some reason I’m picturing you running around the room making rocket sounds. Fireball XL-5!

5 Likes

At the time it seemed like a really good engineering solution to some issues they were having. Then, suddenly, in retrospect, it was a horrible idea.

1 Like

Bah, I let actual motors make the WOOSH! sound!

3 Likes