Watch a plane land at the "world's most dangerous airport"

Originally published at: Watch a plane land at the "world's most dangerous airport" | Boing Boing

3 Likes

The cheers at the end of the landing was by far the best part. But the shortest runway in Saba would like to have a word.

10 Likes

That’s a pucker factor 9 on that one.

4 Likes

The fact that it’s almost 10,000 feet altitude doesn’t help either - not much lift available on your flaps.

10 Likes

“Most dangerous airport,” yet the statistics on crashes show a remarkable safety record. Numbers of fatalities is also low. If not for the one accident in which 18 were lost at one time the stats would be pretty unremarkable.
It’s not that the airport isn’t dangerous. It’s that the record shows the pilots going in and out of there are well trained for the conditions. Which is always the key to good safety records.
(FWIW I’m a 40 year pilot and a longtime student of crash stats.)

21 Likes

May I just take the stairs? /s

11 Likes

The view of the Mountains is breathtaking. The amount of vertical space is stunning, and so different from what I’m used to. Makes me want to travel to Nepal. While I’m waiting out Covid maybe I can find a video game that simulates mountains to hold me over.

1 Like

Flew in to Lukla here back in 2004. I believe I saw wreckage in the canyon below the airstrip. Yikes!

Our plane was loaded down with cases of beer - which are carried all the way to Everest basecamp. We really hoped the plane wasn’t too heavy!

Whenever you think your job is challenging perhaps think of these guys who supply the world’s most unencumbered hikers all their booze:

18 Likes