What corporate presentations were like before PowerPoint

Originally published at: What corporate presentations were like before PowerPoint | Boing Boing

6 Likes

This documentary is worth a watch
Bathtubs Over Broadway - Wikipedia

1 Like

i don’t need to read about it, i lived it. i was a young designer for an agency that did these massive, multi-projector shows. i storyboarded sequences, designed slide graphics and color-gelled thousands of negative films for shooting. we had more a dozen people working on each show. my boss was the programmer/director and he was a mad genius. those corporate shows were big money, high stress projects back in the day and once they were ready you had to take all that equipment on the road and set everything up in some ballroom somewhere and pray it all worked. any a/v person will tell you the same – working in powerpoint does not match that level of hair-pulling crazy.

18 Likes

As someone that was doing presentation work professionally in 1990…Aldus Persuasion was much better for actually making presentations that communicated well. Powerpoint is garbage.

I do like David Byrne’s PowerPoint book though

4 Likes

No offense but I think we’re better off with the PowerPoint…

That anecdote neglects to mention a subsequent meeting, which used Van Halen’s"Dreams" and had an accompanying light show. Interestingly, as IBM’s fortunes improved, the spectacle decreased. (Now they’re doing so well that the facility no longer exists at all)

4 Likes

Slideshows were also used heavily in academic settings.