Wheel reinvented to allow combat vehicles to easily traverse streets, corpses

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/06/25/wheel-reinvented-to-allow-comb.html

3 Likes

This doesn’t seem like it would work that well at highway speeds. It looks like it would have a rougher ride than a pneumatic tire and much greater mechanical drag. It doesn’t look like it adds that much more traction than letting air out of the tires with a central inflation system.

4 Likes

The headline is click bait material and inflammatory for no reason.

As a retired soldier I would love to live in a world where all military personnel retire because no wars need to be fought ever again.

But that’s not reality @beschizza

10 Likes

Believe this to be Rob’s reference point:

DARPA is the future.

11 Likes

I hadn’t actually thought about a movie reference (though it’s more skeletal remains than corpses).

1 Like

Zombie Apocalypse approved!

2 Likes

I don’t get how they are touting it as something that transitions from wheels to tracks. From the gif, they just change from round tracks to triangular tracks, and never operate as a wheel.

7 Likes

I’m sure most police departments in the US will be ordering a few.

5 Likes

The wheels rotate when they’re in the round shape (visible at about 2:21 in the video). When the tracks are activated to change the wheel shape to triangle is when the wheel stops spinning.

9 Likes

I’m surprised the Russian Army didn’t get there first out of sheer necessity.

8 Likes

Ahhh, Skynet will be most pleased!

5 Likes

I wish my country could be overly critical of how the military is used without veterans taking it personally. When I complain about oil wars and the authoritarian state, Im actually advocating for the safety of the troops.

But the zero dissent policy the military command relies upon is also used as a (patriotic) tool against citizens that are asking for our sons and daughters to not be unnecessarily shredded for the profit of others.