Why are you unvaccinated?

[Permalink]

6 Likes

I can’t remember what I have and haven’t been vaccinated for, I don’t know how anyone can remember, although I haven’t had flu shots in the past few years because I have been sick for the past few years, and I have had eczema vaccinatum/ a nasty case of cowpox, and I won’t ever forget that. And I have had chicken pox.

1 Like

Usually you can get your vax records from your high school, grade school or college. Most will require vaccinations, and have the records on file pretty much forever. I needed to go back to my high school for mine when I went to college about 12 years after I graduated.

3 Likes

There are immunity tests if your records aren’t available.

8 Likes

one of my friends - now in his late 50s recalled calling up his mother and asking her if he’d been vaccinated for the mumps or something when he was a kid.

His mother said “let’s see, which one were you…” (in a family of 5 or 6 kids).

14 Likes

And how am I supposed to do that?

And how am I supposed to do that?

I don’t even know who most of them were. I could have a lot of trouble with the whole mismatched-identification issues, too.

Which is part of being human.

Which is part of our life, and of our bureaucracies too.

1 Like

Anymore shots for the messenger? Some adults maintain these things called personal records, possibly in a lock box or filing cabinet, or maybe just in a pile of random papers on the floor of your closet. Often vaccination history goes in these personal records. And if you are a parent the state (even my current state of residence, Arizona) often provides you with a vaccination record book to keep for your child. Copies of this go to schools, daycare, and eventually universities. My mother just happened to have my childhood record, which is now with my files. My wife’s mother also had her records. Pretty amazing.