"Why I'm leaving X and social media behind" — Douglas Rushkoff

Originally published at: "Why I'm leaving X and social media behind" — Douglas Rushkoff | Boing Boing

8 Likes

I think that social media is kind of like the Tragedy of the Commons. Only there are infinite cows and infinite grass, so the cows are all just trying to push the other cows aside so that they will be the ones who are noticed, all the while continuing to eat grass that is increasingly covered in shit.

17 Likes

That they were systematically enclosed by the ruling wealthy? Except in this case there never were commons to be enclosed, they were always walled off private spaces of the wealthy.

The stupid essay tragedy of the commons, aside from having no merit to its argument and making no sound historical case manages to misstate what actually happened to the well maintained, well used, and much needed commons with the Enclosure Acts.

17 Likes

I should have clarified that I am not a proponent of the idea; it’s just that that’s the image that pops into my head when I think of what social media has become.

11 Likes

This is a timely reminder for me to Avoid News and re-read this insightful PDF again:

“Avoid News - Towards a Healthy News Diet”

4 Likes

Social media was always that, an unspoken attempt to force the Internet back into the AOL “walled-garden” experience for the average user. And inside those walls, which lacked humans to tend to the grounds: poisonous and carnivorous plants, gaudy billboards appealing to the lowest common denominator, and all manner of shady characters wandering about provoking fights and spreading lies and facing no consequences for it.

We’re all focused on Musk now, but Dorsey wasn’t much better. How anyone ever trusted someone as openly contemptuous of his users as Zuckerberg is still a puzzle to me. Yet the first impulse for many as Xitter collapses in upon itself is to consider switching to Bluesky or Threads.

18 Likes