Why roller coaster loops aren't circular

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/07/12/why-roller-coaster-loops-arent-circular.html

2 Likes

High g-forces can certainly be bad but your body can usually handle them for brief durations if the ride eases into them smoothly enough. It’s really the derivative of acceleration (a term technically known as “jerk”) that does the most harm, snapping your neck back and causing spinal injuries.

Fun fact: the 4th, 5th and 6th derivatives of position over time are named for the sounds your bones make when experiencing them.
20240712_071155

19 Likes

Of course if you want to have high g-force for a sustained time…

10 Likes

Contributed by Popkin

Video for BBS:

13 Likes

(I’m a retired professional seamstress, and…)

The term “Clothoid loop” caught my attention (introduced at 5:04 in the video). And now I know a little more about it…

A curve with so many names …

The clothoid equations were first defined by Leonhard Euler; this is why, in general Physics the curve is often called Euler spiral. The French physicists Augustin-Jean Fresnel and, later, Alfred Cornu, rediscovered the curve and defined its parametric equations – hence the curve is sometimes called Fresnel or Cornu spiral.

In 1890, Arthur N. Talbot, Professor of Municipal and Sanitary Engineering at the University of Illinois, defined for civil engineering the “railway transition curve” (Talbot – 1912), with similar equations as Euler did for elasticity and Fresnel and Cornu for optical applications.

The name clothoid was suggested by the Italian mathematician Ernesto Cesàro. The word clothoid comes from klothos, the Greek word for spin (wool) the shape of the curve thread that wraps around the spindle. The same root appears in the name of Clotho (The Spinner), one of the three Fates who holds the thread of human destiny.

10 Likes
5 Likes

Brusio spiral viaduct and railway (Switzerland, built 1908), from above: