Fundraiser tee: #000000 {lives:matter;}

[Permalink]

2 Likes

I code CSS for a living, and I had no idea what this shirt was trying to say…

6 Likes

No. No. Please don’t. This is so tasteless I don’t even know where to begin.

If you want to help, just donate money or food or books. Here’s a list of places you can go to help without looking like a tonedeaf asshole. (Sorry for the tumblr formatting.)

15 Likes

It’s telling you that someone with invalid markup (starting an ID with a number) is setting the lives prop to matter, at least until it is overridden in the cascade. /snark

2 Likes

This makes me wince a little too, because I believe the sentiment behind it is genuine but it comes across as a flippant appeal to hipster irony.

14 Likes

Yes, that shirt isn’t offensive at all. /s

Also: I’m pretty sure no one is colored #000000, but I could be wrong. #322529 is the next-to-darkest on Von Luschan’s chromatic scale. (The darkest is #1A1D2E, which I have trouble believing is properly calibrated due to the blue. Then again, I didn’t know there was a skin-tone scale until five minutes ago when I looked it up.)

10 Likes

Every good intention will be appropriately punished.

My damn manufacturer in China is late delivering me 10k #Furgusonstrong bracelets.

1 Like

This wrong on so many levels. Lives do matter, don’t mock it through css code.

3 Likes

One person’s creatively-doing-good is another person’s wrong-and-mocking.

The only way to not offend anybody’s tender sensibilities on The Internets is to Do Nothing.

…what if it just said “Black Lives Matter”…?

5 Likes

If someone means well but says something unintentionally offensive, should everyone else pretend it’s not offensive? Or should they respond with a gentle “I know you mean well but…” to help the person understand how their comment came across?