Kitchen shears are often better than a knife

[Read the post]

1 Like
They frequently go missing because my wife and kids take them to use in another room. There's not much I can do about that

The solution is to have at least 5 of them. This is typically enough to buy you a day or two before you have to roam the house locating the wandering shears

I agree that they are excellent for cutting pizza, especially when it has a thin crispy crust

2 Likes

This is what you need for your salads! Works great.

1 Like

Love kitchen scissors for many things, but pizza is best but with a wheel or one of those long rocker blades. For lettuce, (and onions) I plan the knife cuts (orientation, sequence and angle) to give me the size I want without random chopping or cutting. My wife is more random. I don’t find the random approach to anywhere near as efficient. But then, I’m an engineer.

1 Like

The product linked sucks. The blades don’t separate, making it hard to clean between them after cutting gross things like chicken. Much better are these:

Buy them instead, you should.

2 Likes

A pair of scissors, for every drawer in the house, is my rule…

2 Likes

I hate shears that come apart.

1 Like

I only use the random scissor cuts in a bowl with raw clams. Safer and much cleaner even if it’s less efficient. Greens can typically be torn with much less effort and mess if that’s your goal.

1 Like

The ones that come apart are much more sanitary and less prone to rust and breakage through.

4 Likes

Personally, I am a third generation Zwilling Küchenhilfe user. I got my own before I went off to college. Kitchen shears are serious business.

2 Likes

What, no link to a limited-time offer for kitchen shears on BoingBoingDeals ?

I sometimes use my shears to cut up packing tape or duct tape, but then the blades get gummed up with adhesive, and then (particularly because I lack a dishwasher) I end up ruining my sponges when I try to clean them. It is a constant struggle.