Scientists' favourite jokes

[Permalink]

2 Likes

A cop pulls over Werner Heisenberg’s car, comes to the window, and asks, “Do you have any idea how fast you were going?”

“No,” says Heisenberg, “but I know exactly where I am.”

13 Likes

“I learned very early the difference between knowing the name of something and knowing something.”
― Richard P. Feynman

found: http://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/1429989.Richard_P_Feynman

1 Like

Why did the chicken cross the road? Or is the road crossing the chicken? Or are the chicken and road even real beyond our ability to perceive them? ba dum pssshhhh

I’m not a scientist, but came up with the following:

They who can give up consistency to obtain a little completeness, deserve neither consistency nor completeness.

2 Likes

For Scientists jokes I find myself telling this one a lot.

A psychologist, a physicist and a mathematician are all given a challenge to get the maximum area out of a length of chain link fencing. After working for a bit, the physicists feels pretty confident that he has won this challenge. His circle fence beats the psychologist’s square fence in area and the mathematician is so out of touch with the real world he has found himself wrapped up inside the chain link fencing. The physicist is about ready to declare himself the winner until the mathematician shouts “I define my area to be outside myself!”

I recently heard this lawyer/biologist joke crossover.

The NIH is currently debating whether or not to replace lab rats with lawyers. Lawyers seem to make a pretty good fit as a lab animal. Lawyers multiply at the same rate as rats, researchers are far less likely to get attached to a lawyer than a rat, and it turns out no matter how hard you try there are just somethings you can’t get a rat to do.

4 Likes

came here to post just this, was not disappointed to see it as top post. I’ve used this joke as an icebreaker when interviewing people for years.

Express the following equation as a limerick: