Uber receives "F" from Better Business Bureau

[Permalink]

1 Like

Honest question: is the Better Business Bureau still relevant?

4 Likes

The BBB is basically the pre-internet Yelp.

Minus the word “Algorithm”.

Controversies and all.

2 Likes

So…neither of them payed off the BBB?

(Not defending either of them, but the BBB is a racket and meaningless…)

6 Likes

exactly. it’s a shakedown system.

1 Like

The one time I tried to use Uber, their system refused to take my SMS message to register and left me standing in the rain for 30 minutes futzing with it (Uber has support only asynchronously via email - you can’t call as they have no phones). Finally I took a regular cab and it cost exactly what the estimated Uber price was.

So what’s the point? Plus, with a regular cab, you don’t have to get hit in the head with a hammer.

http://www.ktvu.com/news/news/local/alleged-uber-hammer-attack-victim-recovering-injur/nhfcS/

2 Likes

This. I am a cab driver in a medium sized college town and have regulars who have used Uber. They said the fares were exactly the same, if not higher than what my cab rates were. They said the drivers were inexperienced, unprofessional, and usually had to ask for directions. The thing that irritates me the most is the marketing speak that Uber shits out and then promptly gets spread on multi-grain crackers and enjoyed and passed around by the press. Like the whole “innovation” and “ride-sharing” thing. I’m still scratching my head about what exactly Uber innovated, aside from finding a loophole in regulatory codes that require city oversight of vehicles and drivers. Logistically, they operate exactly like most cab companies. “Rideshare” is on craigslist, most Uber drivers drive between 40-60 hours a week in vehicles they purchased to drive specifically as cabs for Uber, for profit. Our dispatch system is 4-5 years old and nearly identical.

6 Likes