A deep dive into the incredible animation of Akira

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/10/23/a-deep-dive-into-the-incredible-animation-of-akira.html

8 Likes

The words “Yet another…” are missing in the title.

2 Likes

Akira is a monumental piece of animation. Same for Ghost in the Shell

10 Likes

Thanks. I feel old. :joy: I still have the raw vhs tape sent from Japan. Holy hell the shipping was like 60 usd or something insane. Had to figure out some technical stuff like encoding the subtitles at 9yrs of age with a shaky, self-taught grasp of English and Japanese to make copies for fellow anime, non-Japanese speaking fans. My older bro figured out how to be fair, charging only for the blank tapes and shipping.

Did that for the more niche stuff like anything by Go Nagai, coughscuteyhoney coughs, Project A-ko, Devilman, Dangaioh, Zeorymer, RG Veda, Izcer 1, “winds of amnesia”, older Ghibli stuff, until around Y2K. A lot of mecha titles because my grandpa was a massive fan of Gundam and it was his hobby. (Edit: got too excited, can’t English) Realized really really late that a lot of these titles weren’t child appropriate.

10 Likes

The manga is excellent. And I’m not much of a manga guy.

5 Likes

Weird that Akira wasn’t released in the US, we had it in cinemas over here.

If you haven’t read it, the manga of Akira is also really good – I love the movie, but it’s better than the movie in a number of ways. The art is incredible, the story and characters much more nuanced (as you’d imagine), and it is epic in scope. I should buy it on Amazon today, come to think of it!

3 Likes

We had it in non-mainstream cinemas in Canada. (Maybe a year or two after release)

2 Likes

I saw it at a showing in San Diego during comicon, then again in West L.A. a few months later.

2 Likes

Got to add Redline to that list.

3 Likes

Redline is one of my favorite anime movies :blush: lowkey me and my younger brother are obsessed with it

2 Likes