A gynaecologist on how abortion restrictions lead to dangerous abortions

Several states recently passed (or aim to pass) restrictive abortion bills that will close most local abortion clinics in those states. Texas’ effort became famous when Senator Wendy Davis filibustered against it for more than 11 hours to wide acclaim. But that bill differs little to ones that slipped through quietly in Ohio, Wisconsin, and… READ THE REST

1 Like

Amazed that you can’t get an IUD. Is that everywhere in the US or just some states?

It’s not that they’re unavailable, it’s that either insurance isn’t covering it (not for long), or the uninsured simply can’t afford it.

I take back the unavailable part, kinda. There are pockets of extreme assholishness in this country where asshat “christians” pretend at lady-doctoring (I’m looking at you “Dr.” Ron Paul). These moralizing dickwads will refuse to provide IUD’s or any other kind of BC they don’t “agree” with.

8 Likes

When I was an office nurse many years ago, our PA-C told hair raising stories about his time working in an ER in a place where abortion was not available back in the day. If you had money you could cross state lines, but that left impoverished women with no options. He said, despite being super conservative in all the normal ways, he was adamant about being pro-choice.

He was haunted by his experiences, and because of that, he really educated me on this issue. I’m young enough that at the time I had never lived in a time where it was illegal, or was under fire for stupid crap restrictions.

Now when I see all these wangholes trying to restrict abortion, my first thoughts are always of my old coworker, and the stories he had, and the women that died on him.

I really never thought we’d be back to this fight.

8 Likes

I never heard detailed stories from my mothers days working in the ER as tech/nurse but she pretty much said the same.

2 Likes