A look back at the D&D moral panic

[Read the post]

4 Likes

The greatest irony of the D&D moral panic is the accusation by Christian fundamentalists that kids playing a game are the ones who can’t tell the difference between fantasy and reality.

51 Likes

I think they rely on children not knowing the difference between fantasy and reality. Otherwise they wouldn’t have such intensive programs of indoctrination.

"Give me the child until he is seven and I'll give you the man" -Francis Xavier

Growing up in a fundie household, I can confidently say that anything that might have made my thoughts less controlled by my parents absolutely terrified them.

22 Likes

The irony of my fundie upbringing is that going to a Christian college was the death knell for my Christian beliefs. I thought it would make me a better Christian, but it just made me realize that I couldn’t fool myself any longer.

15 Likes

I just started playing D&D. Something I’ve wanted to do for decades. And honestly, I can’t shake the guilt. My mum knows I’m playing, and she doesn’t approve. I’m 40.

I lived in Orangeville, and knew a kid who was killed by someone who used the “I was made crazy by D&D” defence. My parents took away all my Fighting Fantasy novels, and my copy of Ultima.

14 Likes

Is that Tom Hanks in the animated gif?

4 Likes

Yup, from the movie Mazes and Monsters. Loosely based on what people assumed happened with James Dallas Egbert III.

5 Likes

Remember that it’s not just quaint “people sure were gullible back then!” reminiscing. The D&D aspect may have temporarily ruined a few childhoods, but the satanic panic as a whole ruined entire lives. There are still people in prison today because of those insane, fantasy-based witch hunts.

14 Likes

Right, like all that satanic ritual abuse bullshit there’s no evidence for, but a lot of people are still locked up over it.

3 Likes